2011 is almost here, time to regroup

Wow, I haven’t made a post since May. Not good. Not that I’m some great fitness guru or anyting with anything new to say, or a great writer; but one thing I’ve learned over the years, and this is from Brian Tracy. “You become what you think about most of the time.”

My fitness has slipped a bit the last few months and I’ll point the finger right to that four letter word we all hate – DIET. How about I call it what it should be, the way I eat. I did have hernia surgery at the end of July, and obviously it effected my workouts, but I’ll hang my slip on what it was, how I ate.

“Focus Grasshopper” as Caine was told often by his Sensei. It’s what I need for 2011 and beyond and not just on my fintess.

I’ve learned a lot during 2010, seen some different ideas on fitness as well and it’s time to put them into practice. I just picked up a book on a different style of eating, “The Paleo Solution” by Robb Wolf. I”m about 40% through it and it makes sense. Will I be able to go complete Paleo? Probably not. Will I be able to take the principles I’ve learned and will learn in it and improve myself physically? I certainly think so.

Take yesterday for example. Now, I’m not finished with the book, but I think I ate well yesterday and here’s what I’ve taken from it so far. Again, nothing new or earthshattering.

  • Eat lean protein
  • Fat (certain types in moderation) is ok
  • Keep the carb intake low
  • Eat your fruits and veggies – Thanks mom!
  • Refined sugar is really bad
  • If it comes out of a box, don’t eat it

Again, I’m sure there is more to it and I’ll learn it as I move through the book. Anyway, I had eggs and sausage for breakfast. snacked on some chocolate covered almonds and jerky throughout the day. Think I had a protein shake for lunch, more jerky then dinner. I cooked up some Talapia and broccolli. What I noticed the most was, as Robb said in the book, was I felt satisfied, but not overly full or bloated or lethargic. Now, after dinner I decided to have a little sweet snack. I got into the small peppermint patties that I got in my stocking. They were small and I had 1 serving, 150 calories. It didn’t make feel like complete crap, but I did notice a bit of a bloated feeling after I ate them. Based on the size of the serving that I had, it shouldn’t have. Maybe there is something to what Robb is on to….

I’ll finish this by saying I will use this blog for what I originally started it for. To keep track of my progress in my fitness and to help me stay focused on my fitness.

Here’s to a great 2011!

2 Responses to 2011 is almost here, time to regroup

  1. Todd Lange says:

    Glad to see you’re back at it!

    • michaelsuggs says:

      Thanks Todd, I lost a little focus during the last part of the year. I think the blogging will help keep things on track. I’m starting off the year with a 5k run and 10 mile bike ride. The Freeze Your Fanny in Longview.
      take care and talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

